RSS Feed

Hearts and attempts at art

I ordered some felt recently because I wanted to make some Christmas hearts. It took a while to turn up so I only got round to making my first heart the other day. It’s very much a prototype and I’ve run out of embroidery thread to sew the edges closed! Also, I definitely need to practise my blanket stitch some more. But I’m pretty pleased with it overall.

I’ve never been good at art, even stick figures are a stretch for me. I hated it in school, mainly due to our horrible art teacher, but the other day I saw a cheap watercolours kit and bought it and a sketch pad. I got home and decided to draw a duck. Why a duck? Because birds are the only thing I remember drawing that looked half like they were supposed to. So here’s my unfinished first attempt at drawing and watercolours!

I had some issues with colours bleeding, and it’ll take some time to get used to how to blend the colours etc. Overall I’m pretty pleased with it, although it admittedly does look better upside down or from far away! Not sure whether I’ll bother working on it some more yet. But it was fun to do something different.

About fredericaknits

I'm an avid knitter and i've just started writing my own designs. I'll be posting my designs and general crafty goodness.

3 responses »

  1. I took up watercolours last year and really enjoy it! Lovely first attempt, it is really great!!!

    Reply
  2. I agree, that is a first great attempt. I couldn’t do half as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

