RSS Feed

First attempt at dyeing

I’ve been wanting to try yarn dyeing for ages now, and ordered my tester dye set a while ago. The only problem was finding a fairly cheap stainless steel pot to use, but thankfully I found a huge one on Amazon. It can hold 19 litres, not that I’d be able to lift it!
I bought an undyed mystery pack from Fyberspates and took the plunge today in testing out all my new goodies.
I washed the yarn, soaked in the mordant fixer for a while and then started the actual dyeing.

Giant pot was at the ready.

I had my instructions, equipment and mixed up a jam jar of dye to the colour I wanted.

And this is what I ended up with!

The colour isn’t showing up well on my camera, no matter how much I change the lighting settings. It’s a bright emerald green (like Madelinetosh’s Seaglass). It’s just what I’ve been looking for for ages! So now I’m going to make it into a small shawl. I’ll finally have something green in my wardrobe!

About fredericaknits

I'm an avid knitter and i've just started writing my own designs. I'll be posting my designs and general crafty goodness.

2 responses »

  1. What a great first attempt! I love that colour! I didn’t know you could get an undyed mystery pack from fyberspates, how fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

