RSS Feed

Marie Antoinette

I watched Marie Antoinette again today. I wouldn’t watch it if it weren’t for the costumes as they really are amazing. 18th century dresses are definitely my favourites, although I admittedly love other eras too. I thought I’d share some of my favourites from the film.

It’s pink and fluffy. Need I say more?

Lovely sleeves, and I love how it drapes.

Not the clearest image, but this is one of my favourites.

I want a yellow dress too!

All these images are from The Costumer’s Guide which is great because it divides period film and TV productions by era.

I’d love to have dresses like these, but in my flat I probably wouldn’t even be able to get out of the door, let alone swan around and swoon sufficiently. Watching Marie Antoinette has also reminded me how much I want to go to Versailles. It looks decadently amazing! It would be a pretty huge project, but I’m seriously considering making a period dress. I’d have nowhere to wear it to, but at least I’d feel amazing wearing it!

About fredericaknits

I'm an avid knitter and i've just started writing my own designs. I'll be posting my designs and general crafty goodness.

One response »

  1. I adore the costumes in this movie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

