RSS Feed

Vintage madness

I’ve been sewing a lot lately, and have also gone a bit mad for vintage everything. Hair and fashion in particular. So, I went traipsing around my local charity and vintage shops and came away with this skirt.

Vintage skirt front

It doesn’t look like much, but it’s so, so comfy! It was only £15. I’ve got no idea what decade it’s from, but it actually fits. Owing to my stupid measurements and 12″ difference between waist and hips, high-waisted skirts are usually either fine on the waist and straining on my hips, or baggy on the waist and perfect on the hips. This skirt has fully converted me to the wonders of vintage shopping. Plus it’s 100% wool so it’ll be good for winter.
On the sewing front I finished my second dress a few days ago. I used Simplicity pattern 3673 which was immensely easy. I like to wear it as a sort of pinafore dress, and as you can see I’ve even done my hair in pin curls (which I’m in love with!)

Grey dress

The only trouble was the zip at the back. Zips without zipper foots = garr! I had to finish the bottom of the zip by hand, so it’s a little squiffed, but pretty ok.

Grey dress

Next up on the sewing pile is a brown puffy skirt. I might have to postpone sewing for a while though as I remembered my massive list of knitting to get through by Christmas!

About fredericaknits

I'm an avid knitter and i've just started writing my own designs. I'll be posting my designs and general crafty goodness.

2 responses »

  1. Oh my word! Your dress is so lovely. I really wish I knew how to sew, I really admire your talent 🙂

    Reply
  2. That is SO cute!! Thanks for stopping by my blog too. I am so glad to learn sewing does get eaiser 🙂 I hope we can both reap the rewards of sewing our own clothes & I hope you can get a treadle machine someday! You have a gift it’s beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

