RSS Feed

Sewing!

Eep, I’ve been a bad blogger! Well, not a lot of knitting’s been done since I last posted anyway. I did, however, graduate! It was pretty rubbish since we didn’t even get our certificates, plus my Russian department had a separate graduation date from the other modern languages which meant I was with hardly anyone I knew.

I also went to the iKnit Weekender which was great. There were so many beautiful things to buy. Thankfully my aunt came with me to restrain me!

I’ve also been using my mum’s sewing machine an awful lot. I cut and started this blouse about 4 months ago, but since finishing it I’ve become obsessed with sewing!

JJ blouse

JJ2

It’s not the most flattering neckline in the world, and since I’m now a 36″ bust not a 34″, I doubt I’ll wear it a lot, but it was definitely educational.

So, I finished that project and instantly started another. I’d raided my mums old patterns and found a cute looking dress/smock pattern from the 70s. I bought some purple jersey to do it in, and after 2 days of work (see the increase in speed the obsession has brought about?) I had this very retro looking dress.

70s dress3

Oh yeh, I also pincurled my hair for the first time today. It didn’t work too well at the back, but considering I’ve been out on the windy streets of London for hours, it held up quite well!

Big sleeves!

It’s a bit more retro than I was going for, especially the collar, but hey, I made it and I’m proud of myself. Plus it gave me an excuse to wear those beautiful, but really painful shoes!

70s dress2

I’ll have to do another post soon of my knitting progress, as I’ve pretty much finished and massively adapted the Coffee Tunic and almost finished my first mitten design.

About fredericaknits

I'm an avid knitter and i've just started writing my own designs. I'll be posting my designs and general crafty goodness.

Leave a Reply

