RSS Feed

Boot camp

Yesterday I started the Creativity Boot Camp. My medium is drawing/designing, so I can’t really add beautiful pictures or anything on here. The first prompt word was ‘Ivory’, so my first move was to list words that I associate with ivory. Some of these were smooth, foreign, murderous connotations and even decadence.

After thinking about these words I went on to make rough sketches of a few knitting ideas. I came up with a clutch with beads to imitate the shine of ivory, as well as some more colourful elements to pick up on the countries that ivory comes from.

Today’s theme is ‘Picnic’, but it wasn’t really a picnic day today, with drizzle and cooler weather. For picnic I went for brighter colours, gingham, even some colours from the traditional picnic foods. This boot camp is great, I’m already realising how many links I can get from just one word, and what effect that has on my ability to design. It made me realise I never think about myself as an artist because I don’t think I’m talented enough, or will ever produce anything original and worth mentioning. Hopefully by the end of this I’ll have loads of new ideas and be proud enough of them and of myself to produce them and show them.

About fredericaknits

I'm an avid knitter and i've just started writing my own designs. I'll be posting my designs and general crafty goodness.

Leave a Reply

